Saturday 30th November saw the first ever Wirral Junior Chess Championship run by Chess in Schools and Communities.

Eighty-three children from primary schools all over the Wirral competed in the tournament held at Our Lady and St Edwards Catholic Primary School in Birkenhead.

After six rounds of hard but very fairly fought games of chess, trophies and medals were awarded to the girls and boys who earned the right to call themselves the junior chess champions of Wirral. Presentations were made by Cathy Murphy, Deputy Head of New Brighton Primary.

Bob Clark, tournament organiser and regional director of Chess In Schools and Communities said:

“It was great to see so many children enjoying playing chess and particularly pleasing that the atmosphere was competitive but very respectful and friendly throughout the day even in the tense finale of the last round.

“I would like to thank Elaine McGunigall, the head teacher at Our Lady and St Edwards, for allowing us to use her school and also the school staff and Wirral chess tutors who gave up their Saturdays to allow the running of this very successful tournament.” 

Future tournaments that the charity is hoping to organise include their annual Merseyside competition at St George’s Hall and a Girl Empowerment Tournament (thirty-three per cent of competitors at the Wirral tournament were girls). 

Chess in Schools and Communities is a charitable organisation that teaches children how to play chess in their schools. They are popular in a number of schools in Merseyside and throughout the country which recognise the many other benefits, apart from the enjoyment of the game, that playing chess in schools brings.




1st Harriette Bissette (Dawpool) 5.5

2nd= Vivien Wilkinson (St. Bridgets) 4

2nd= Tia Elizabeth Anup (Greasby Juniors) 4

3rd Anna McKenna (Greasby Juniors) 3.5


1st Luca Eden (St. Bridgets) 5 (tie-break)

2nd Alexander Gregory (St. Bridgets) 5 (tie-break)

3rd Sam Davies (Dawpool) 4.5



1st Ava Prior (St Bridgets) 4.5 (tie break)

2nd Maiya Maguire (Our Lady and St Edwards) 4.5 (tie-break)

3rd= Ella Temple (Our Lady and St Edwards) 4

3rd= Eleanor Hughes (Our Lady of Pity) 4


1st Adam Lattern (St Bridgets) 5.5

2nd Harry Woodley (Ladymount) 5

3rd= Leon Pipala (Ladymount) 4

3rd= Luke Brandwood (Ladymount) 4

3rd= Jack Price (Our Lady and St Edwards) 4



1st Jessica-Rose Preston (Dawpool) 3.5

2nd Charlotte Prior (St. Bridgets) 3

3rd= Daisy Scullion (Holy Trinity)

3rd= Holly Shirley (Holy Trinity)


1st Ashvin Kumar (St Peters) 6

2nd Dylan West (Dawpool) 6

3rd Dylan Elder (Greasby) 4.5